ASU STUDENT MEDIA (State Press & SPM)

ASU STUDENT MEDIA (State Press & SPM)

State Press Newspaper is issued weekly year around.

State Press Magazine is issued three times during the fall and spring semesters.

The Department of Student Media at ASU is a part of University Student Initiatives and works closely with the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and other colleges and programs to offer opportunities to students interested in journalism and media professions. Student Media provides the university community with news, information and a forum for the exchange of ideas, while also providing an educational learning environment for students.

Student Media properties include the State Press newspaper, StatePress.com, State Press Magazine, and State Press Television. Each of these is managed and staffed by ASU students with advice and training from professional employees and journalism faculty. Students make all final editorial decisions and take full responsibility for editorial content.

While working at Student Media, students gain practical experience as reporters, writers, editors, Web developers, designers, photographers, producers, directors, videographers, salespeople, and business managers.

Student Media generates 90 percent or more of its own revenue, making it a largely self-supporting department. Salaries, equipment, phones, supplies and other essentials are paid out of department revenues.

Statepress.com receives 90,000 impressions per month.

On Facebook at Facebook.com/StatePress. State Press on Twitter at Twitter.com/statepress. On Instagram at instagram.com/statepress. Also has separate sports-focused Twitter handle at Twitter.com/statepresssport. Blogging at Statepress.com/section/spm/blogs/. SPM on Twitter at Twitter.com/StatePressMag and Instagram at /statepressmag

Name Title Phone Email Twitter
Arts and Culture Editorsarts.statepress@gmail.com
Editor-In-Chiefeditor.statepress@gmail.com
Executive Editorexeced.statepress@gmail.com
Local & National Sales480-965-6555
SPM General Queriesspmstories@gmail.com
State Press Calendarspcalendar@asu.edu
State Press Letters to Editorletters.editor@asu.edu